ABOUT MY BOOKS

Is A Court of Miracles on Goodreads? Yes! Add it to your TBR list here

Where can I pre-order A Court of Miracles? Nowhere yet! I shall keep ya’ll posted. 

When is A Court of Miracles being published? ACOM will be published in the United States and Canada in Fall 2018 by Knopf, Random House, and in the UK by Harper Voyager, and a whole bunch of other countries that are listed on the BOOKS page. I don’t have anything more specific on a month, day, or international pub dates yet but I will try to share them as I receive them. 

Is A Court of Miracles the first in a series? ACOM is the first in a trilogy. Book 2 is scheduled for publication Fall 2019 and Book 3 in Fall 2020.

Is A Court of Miracles a retelling of both Jungle Book and Les Miserables? Yes, ACOM is a direct reimagining of both the Mowgli arc of tales from the First and Second Jungle Book, and the entire cast of Les Miserables. 

If this is a Jungle Book reimagining, are there animals in A Court of Miracles? No, and I get this question a lot. ACOM is a retelling of JB in the same way as Neil Gaiman's Graveyard Book was a JB retelling. The animal characters all have human counterparts

Do you have to have read Jungle Book and / or Les Miserables to enjoy A Court of Miracles? ACOM was written to appeal to fans of JB and Les Mis as well as people who have never read either, you can enjoy it even if you're unfamiliar with the works it's based on.

I've never read Jungle Book or Les Miserables, what else can I compare this book to to see if I'd like it? ACOM should appeal to fans of gritty criminal underworlds like Leigh Bardugo’s Six Of Crows, and Scott Lynch's The Lies Of Locke Lamora, lovers of high octane YA fantasy like Sabaa Tahir’s Ember In The Ashes, classical literature retellings in the vein of Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles and Danielle Paige’s Dorothy Must Die series

How diverse is A Court of Miracles? As a writer of color, representation is very important to me. I tried my best to introduce a diverse cast to the all-white narrative of Les Miserables, the main character of ACOM, Nina, is a POC and so are many of her compatriots. I also drew on my own personal experiences with prejudice surrounding religion, class and race to illustrate the contrasting societies of the diversity-rich Miracle Court, and the all-white nobility/royal court. 

What are your thoughts on Rudyard Kipling's imperialistic world-view and Disney's versions of the Jungle Book? As a Mauritian Indian-Creole  (Mauritian Creole's are the descendents of often unwilling unions between white land-owners and their slaves), this was very important to me, ACOM is not based on Disney's Jungle Book rather it is based on Kipling's original Jungle Book stories, subverting the narrative to free it from its sometimes problematic roots.

Enquiries about foreign rights, permissions, blurb requests, or other business stuff ? Please contact my agent JOSH ADAMS 


What advice would you give to aspiring writers? I’ve blogged about this here and here. And I’d add throughout a writers a life, to read widely both within and outside of your chosen writing genre. I’d also add that it makes a world of difference to have a partner in life, who is supportive of your writing dreams.

Any advice on getting published?  See my WRITERS RESOURCES page for a lengthy list of articles about writing and publishing. This is an ever expanding resource. Also check out my BLOG for various posts on writing advice and how ACOM went from idea to book deal.

Who is your agent? I am represented by JOSH ADAMS of Adams Literary

How did you get your start as an author? I’ve blogged the story of how I wrote my first bookhow I got an agent, and a 3 book publishing deal.

GETTING PUBLISHED


ABOUT KESTER

Where do you get your ideas? My ideas are the culmination of a curious and ravenous mind. My stories are inspired by: Learning or reading about history, nature or science documentaries, reading fiction and non-fiction in genres outside my usual tastes, watching series or movies and having visceral reactions of things I love and things I hate. Which is why I advise other new writers to be curious and open minded .

What's it like writing as a dyslexic? I've talked about my struggles as a dyslexic author in an interview here

Do you write to music? I don’t! I do sometimes have playlists of instrumental film soundtracks to turn to, in setting the mood for certain scenes, but it's rare.

How often do you write? I’m a full time author, I write or do writing related work five days a week during normal office ‘work-hours’. Reading counts as writing related work.

What do you do when you’re not writing? I’m generally reading, or eating. Or being entangled in the the madcap antics of my household of fiendish cats and dogs.

What’s your favourite book? The Wind Singer trilogy by William Nicholson, especially the last book.

Where are you from? I am essentially a British-born African. I have spent my life equally divided between the Democratic Republic of Congo, Mauritius Island and London. 

Where do you live? My husband and I are nomads, but we’re currently in Mauritius Island. 

Did you study writing at University/College/School? Nope, and although it might be helpful, I do not believe it necessary for aspiring writers.

Can you read my book/recommend me to your agent? I’m afraid I don’t read unpublished manuscripts because I have so much writing, research and a giant stack of TBR books threatening to topple over and crush me to death. I don’t recommend things to my agent unless I’ve read them.

Can I interview your for my blog? This is possible, get in touch with me here...

Have more questions? Do ask me via my Tumblr! I might not be able to respond to everything, but I will do my very best!